Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie

Track List:

  • You’re Not Me
  • For the People
  • One Card Short
  • Step Up
  • Shadow Games
  • It’s Over
  • Blind Ambition
  • The Great Pretender
  • How Much Longer
  • U Better Fear Me
  • Power Within
  • Believe In
  • Yu-Gi-Oh! Theme

YBF Says

You’re Not Me (Marty Bags) – For an opening track they couldn’t have chosen much better from the selection available. I liked what was played of You’re Not Me during the movie, and as a full track it doesn’t disappoint. The lyrics are obviously talking about Seto Kaiba, and in places they’re perhaps slightly cheesy (“I know you think you’re being nice but spare me all your lame advice”!), but with vocals and instrumentals as good at these it’s not a major problem

For the People (Black Eyed Peas) – I like the Black Eyed Peas as a band and had thought about picking up their album when I ordered this one, but if there are many tracks like For the People on that then I’ll just see if iTunes sells the individual tracks. There’s no obvious link between the song and the movie and the whole sound of the track just seems disjointed from almost all of the other tracks. It’s not that great on its own either.

One Card Short (James Chatton) – I’ll admit here and now that this song was the only reason I sat through any of the credits at the end of the Yu-Gi-Oh! Movie. Everyone online had been ranting about it and if I’d heard the track when it was on the McDonalds’ CDs then I probably would have been too, so when it started playing as the credits rolled I thought I’d stick around and give it a go. I’m glad that I did, because that one song cemented my decision to buy the soundtrack (that and the fact that I knew I had this review to write and that I couldn’t do it from 30 second samplers of 5 tracks alone). “One Card Short” is classic Yu-Gi-Oh! music, along similar veins to the better tracks from Music to Duel By, and that’s no bad thing. It’s also the track you get straight after You’re Not Me if you skip For the People and that’s an added bonus.

Step Up (Jean) – Where For the People failed, Step Up delivers beautifully. It’s got a different sound to the rest of the album and in all respects it’s a great tune. The only disappointment is that Black Eyed Peas couldn’t have managed with their contribution what Jean’s done here and created a great tune.

Shadow Games (Trixie Reiss) – The third clear Yu-Gi-Oh! track on the album, Shadow Games is quite a different sound to the rest of the album so far but it contrasts really well. I’m still not sure who it’s supposed to be written about (some people suggest Marik and Mai, but the lyrics and the fact that it’s on the movie soundtrack don’t really match with that) but I can’t say I really care. It’s quite a slow song, but at the same time very edgy and another good tune.

It’s Over (Fatty Koo) – I’m not completely against R’n’B style music (which, I think, this would be classed as) but I cannot stand this track on any level. The vocals make my teeth grind, the lyrics are awful plus it’s one of the longest tracks on the album. All I can say is that I only wish “It’s Over” sooner.

Blind Ambition (The Deleted) – Remember World of Yu-Gi-Oh! from Music to Duel By? That was one of my favourite tracks on the album when it was released and this is looking set to beat it down into a lower spot in my heart. The whole tone of the track is very similar, although the lyrics are rather bizarre in places, and it helps that the same artists worked on both tracks. Of course, if you never liked World of Yu-Gi-Oh! you probably won’t like this either.

The Great Pretender (The Jon Frederik Band) – Another mellow track, The Great Pretender is a nice all-round track. The lyrics are interesting, the instrumentals are nice and the vocals are pretty impressive too. Plus these guys are a proper band in their own right with a proper album coming out later this year. If they sound like this normally then I’ll definitely be picking that up when it comes out.

How Much Longer (Jen Scaturro) – How Much Longer returns to the upbeat, rock theme of the album with a kick which doesn’t flow entirely smoothly if you’re listening to the album with a mix between tracks. That said, however, it’s still a nice pacey track that reminds me of the study leave I spent listening to Sugar Ray 24/7.

U Better Fear Me (The Deleted) – I had to do a double take when I first read the artists for U Better Fear Me, as it sounds nothing like The Deleted’s other two core Yu-Gi-Oh! tracks; World of Yu-Gi-Oh! (Music to Duel By) and Blind Ambition. With powerful instrumentals in places it’s also quite a slow piece in other places, adding up to an interesting piece but not one of my favourites on the album.

Power Within (Dan Metreyeon) – There’s mellow and then there’s slow, and unfortunately Power Within falls into the latter category. I can do slow songs sometimes (I’m probably one of the few people who doesn’t despise We’ll Be There from Music to Duel By) but this is just too much (or is that too little?) and the lyrics don’t do it any favours.

Believe In (Skwib) – I’m sure this had the potential to be a great ‘final’ track (since track 13 is ‘hidden’) but it doesn’t really deliver. It’s not a bad track, and it has the elements to be good; vocals are passable, the range of instruments is good and the lyrics aren’t dreadful, but with such powerful tracks elsewhere on the album Believe In just doesn’t deliver.

Yu-Gi-Oh! Theme – The cunningly hidden track 13 (it’s right after track 12 and before your CD player returns to the beginning) is, apparently, a never before heard version of the Yu-Gi-Oh! theme tune, but without returning to the original version released on Music to Duel By I can’t say for sure. Even if it is a new arrangement, it’s hardly anything to shout about, which is probably why the only mention of it on the CD’s packaging is a label on the shrink wrap.